The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

 

“’I don’t want to go to heaven with a headache, I’d be all cross and wouldn’t enjoy it!’”

 

 

I usually keep three books going at any one time, this is pretty standard, any more than that and I basically get unproductive. One of the problems towards me meeting the goal last year was that I juggled too many books for too long and didn’t have enough time anyway. Usually I go for two books of regular size that I want to read and one shorter book so that I can try and make fairly regulars updates to this thing. Welcome to the land behind the curtain.

 

The two books I’m reading now are both non fiction, histories of some wars, so you’ve got those to look forward to, but even though the books flow smoothly, they’re not exactly lite reading. So, I decided to reread Hitchhiker’s, which is probably the funniest book I’ve read.

 

I can see and understand criticisms of the book. The story itself seems like a giant joke, but it’s a funny joke. I can see where you might be annoyed by lines like “The ships hung in the sky in much the same way that bricks don’t.” if you don’t think that line from the opening chapters is funny, then you should stay away from the book.

 

There’s not much to analyze here, just to post a few Goodreads quotes and some lines I highlighted while reading on my Kindle. For what it is worth, the sequence of the whale falling through the air after having just materialized is my favorite in the whole series.

 

“This must be Thursday,’ said Arthur to himself, sinking low over his beer. ‘I never could get the hang of Thursdays.” (one of my many favorites.)

 

“For a moment, nothing happened. Then, after a second or so, nothing continued to happen.” (Sometimes I find myself writing lines like this. Realize I can’t pull them off. Then write something worse.)

 

“Rickmansworth suddenly realized that it was that had been going wrong all this time, and she finally knew how the world could be made a good and happy place. This time it was right, it would work, and no one would have to get nailed to anything.”

 

“What’s so unpleasant about being drunk?”

“You ask a glass of water.”

 

 

“If there’s anything more important than my ego around, I want it caught and shot now.”

 

“The wall defied imagination – seduced it and defeated it.”

 

“Ford!” he said, “there’s an infinite number of monkeys outside who want to talk to us about this script for Hamlet they’ve worked out.”

 

“All through my life I’ve had this strange unaccountable feeling that something was going on in the world, something big, even sinister, and no one would tell me what it was.”

“No,” said the old man, “that’s just perfectly normal paranoia. Everyone in the Universe has that.”

 

 

You can pretty much read the entire book on Goodreads if you look through the quotes page. It will just be out of order.

 Book 6 is down.

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11.The_Hitchhiker_s_Guide_to_the_Galaxy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

