Book 35 In Nonestica

“For my parents, who gave me too many books as a child.”

 

Writing about poetry presents the same problem as writing about music, so I shall paraphrase the old quote; writing about poetry is like crying over architecture.  Neither one will really convey the true sense of how one felt about it, still I read the poetry book, indeed I have more poetry books to read, so I have to figure out some way of capturing the feeling.

 

The above quote is the forward to In Nonestica and should anything I write ever get published in its own volume I hope to steal the spirit of it for my own forward.  It’s a very adult book, that is grown up while still holding on to some of the themes that, I at least, associate with childhood.  The poems in this collection represent pirates, the characters from The Wizard of Oz, and my personal favorite personification and anthropomorphic animals.  There are old stories, a poem is dedicated to a man who died in the thirties over a game of cards, and to my mind the first poem “Patchwork Girl” serves as a classic invocation of the muse and harkens us to pay attention to what follows.

 

Some of my favorite poems from the collection are “Visitors” a poem describing a stuffed elephant and talking about lucky it was to have grown up in the narrator’s room, rather than in the wild.  “A Love Poem, Because Love” the aforementioned poem dedicated to the card player named Love.  My favorite poem was “Zanesville” which described the thoughts going through some animals who escaped from a private collector in Ohio, the poem was smart and funny, from the descriptions of the monkey trying to pass itself off as a human, to the tiger which had attacked an escaping monkey, before escaping itself.

 

Love did have a lot in common/ with love: he was inscrutable and pretty/ particular as to where he spent his / time,

 

http://www.accents-publishing.com/books.html#in_nonestica

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

