Book 32 – The Shadow of the Wind

Book 32 The Shadow of the Wind

 http://www.amazon.com/Shadow-Wind-Carlos-Ruiz-Zafón/dp/0143034901/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1368820466&sr=8-1&keywords=The+Shadow+of+the+Wind

 

“Making money isn’t hard in itself… What’s hard is to earn it doing something worth devoting one’s life to.”

 

This was a reread of a book I already love.  A dark, but always hopeful book set in Franco era Barcelona.  It reads like a love letter to the power of books, one of the lurking problems of the book itself, in the age when TV and movies were just starting to get into their golden age, is that people will eventually start putting their books down.

 

This was only a small matter, but since the protagonist works in his family’s bookshop, it is one that had to come up.  There is actually a great deal going on in the novel, probably too much.  There were a couple of subplots that don’t go anywhere, but overall I love the story structure, and the story that is told is told in an interesting way.  It is an over the top story of murder, insanity and political intrigue, but as long as you tell the story to me in an exciting way, I don’t really care as much about something like feasibility.

 

Unlike my feelings with “Looking for Alaska” I was invested in this book, and because of that I was able to forgive any errors of continuity or characterization, of which there were few and I can’t even put my finger on them in my memory.  That is one advantage too of an almost 500 page book, you lose track of slight errors.  I didn’t exercise my pen, mostly because I didn’t want to take the time to stop reading.   That’s the best review I can give I guess, I enjoyed this book so much I didn’t want to criticize it.

 

The book is also very quotable, I picked the one above out just because I’m on the job hunt and it manages to both mock me and encapsulate how I feel.  I haven’t found a job in Columbia yet, so it does feel kind of hard to make money, but I know that I will find a job (fingers crossed) it just may not be in the field I most want to work in, just a field I can work in. 

 

 

http://www.goodreads.com/work/quotes/3209783-la-sombra-del-viento

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

