Book 21

The Master and Margarita

I dunno what to tell you, it took me a month to get through this book and it didn’t do much good.  It’s a translation of a satire of Soviet life written in the 30s.  Hopefully that is enough to justify my lack of memory.  It had all the promise of a book I was going to enjoy very much, a Faustian tale set in Soviet Russia.

 

It didn’t make an impression.  I wasn’t in a place to be moved on by a book.  I just couldn’t escape, my eyes ran over every page but the words never penetrated.  I’ll have to come back to it at some point.

I’m sure that it is a book that was set up for English majors to fawn over.  Comparing this book and Faust is at least a few people’s thesis statement, I’m sure.  It was very fun in a Sheldon Cooper kind of way, that requires of footnotes to explain the jokes.

“Follow me, reader! Who told you that there is no true, faithful, eternal love in this world! May the liar’s vile tongue be cut out! Follow me, my reader, and me alone, and I will show you such a love!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

