Book 8 – Good Omens

I have read this book before.  About six years ago I gave it to my cousin who was going back to the Navy.  He left the book in our grandmother’s car and I never saw it again.  I was sitting on my mamaw’s porch over the summer and she was telling me about the latest book she had been reading:

“Its got two authors and they’re both British and I think you would really like it, but I didn’t really…”

At which point I interrupted her saying, “Mamaw do you have my copy of Good Omens?” 

She did.  It had somehow ended up at her brother’s house.  After having looked for the book so long, what else could I do but set it on the kitchen table for six months and read it just now?  

Something that I have definitely decided is that I love the British way with words.  Right from the outset in the opening page “God moves in mysterious, not to say, circuitous ways.  God does not play dice with the universe; He plays an ineffable game of His own devising, which might be compared from the perspective of any of the other players (i.e., everybody), to being involved in an obscure and complex version of poker in a pitch dark room, with blank cards, for infinite stakes, with a Dealer who won’t tell you the rules, and who smiles all the time.”  

If you do not like that paragraph then this book may not be for you.  I adore that paragraph, so this book is very much for me and I suspect Pratchett and Gaiman will both show up again before this hundred book thing is over.  The book reminded me of a novelized cartoon, which is a format I wish I could get away with writing in.  

The book also intrigues me because of its two authors.  I love writing, but I also love the feeling of a writing room.  My workshop classes in screenwriting were my favorite classes because most of the people in that class were willing to throw around ideas and lines of dialogue back and forth.  As much as I love(hate) the intensely personal act of writing, the companionship of the writing room and throwing around of ideas is something I really wish for.  It’s good knowing that a book a so completely enjoy came from collaboration.

Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

