A Sheldon Cooper moment: White Christmas

First, a definition.  A Sheldon Cooper moment is what I’m using to term a time to explain something that people enjoy for the sake of itself and introducing a random tidbit that the speaker thinks will enlighten or make others appreciate what was going on in the first place.  If you watch the Big Bang Theory, you know that this is frequently met with blank stares or outright scorn.  

 

I expect no less.

Anyway, I was at the Madrigal dinner earlier and they were singing White Christmas.  I spent most of my life never thinking much about the song, I just wanted to have a White Christmas so it would be appropriate to hear the song.  Now, in my age, I don’t dream of White Christmas, I have to drive myself and hate the snow.  

One thing I learned about the song, which was written by Irving Berlin around 1940 was from an old Kraft Radio show where Bing Crosby sang it.  He sang at a Pacific military base and made the note that all the soldiers were dreaming of a White Christmas that year, and for many, the dream was the best that they could hope for that Christmas.  Bob Hope later used the song for all of his USO tours.

So, I try to keep the image of the soldiers and boys who wont be home for Christmas and tonight I thought about my first Christmas without my papaw.  My thoughts went back to him, as they have frequently over the last couple of weeks.  Missing loved ones during the Holidays isn’t new to most people, but it is new to me.

Anyway, I told you all that to tell you this.  White Christmas is my favorite Christmas song, even if it is a terribly sad song.

 

Sorry if I ruined it for you.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

